Sheared Bliss


Happy Mother’s Day
May 10, 2009, 10:05 pm
Filed under: Garden | Tags:
So in Colorado the rule of thumb is that you shouldn’t start your garden until Mother’s Day.  Well, I cheated a little bit – it’s been warm and I was just sooo tempted by the herbs at the farmers’ market that I planted my “garden” last Sunday – but I thought today would be a good day to share it since my mommy is at least partly responsible for my love of gardening.

Now, I use the term “garden” extremely loosely.  We have a small patio, but it receives shockingly little sun – it has walls on two sides and is completely roofed over.  Sooo . . . I decided to plant some herbs in pots as close to the edge of the patio as possible and hope for the best.

In order of appearance we have:

Oregano and Basil

Oregano and Basil

Rosemary and two pots of Chives (although Im worried about the second pot - theyre not coming back up like they should after being trimmed back)

Rosemary and two pots of Chives (although I'm worried about the second pot - they're not coming back up like they should after being trimmed back)

Parsley and Cilantro

Parsley and Cilantro

Shrub (of the non-plant variety), more Basil, and Peppermint

Shrub (of the non-plant variety), more Basil, and Peppermint

Thyme and Sage

Thyme and Sage

Lemon Balm

Lemon Balm

So thanks, Mommy, for teaching me to love plants.  Also, Shrub thinks it was really thoughtful of me to provide her with such a nice salad bar.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just wait until Shrub starts recycling the contents of the salad bar, back into the lovely sandbox you’ve given her! Like the blog so far, found you on knitty and had to come be nosy.

Comment by cathairinmyknitting

Hey, thanks! You’re welcome to be nosy any time. I kind of think that blogs satisfy the inner voyeur in all of us. And, of course, Knitties are welcome any time!

Comment by shearedbliss




Leave a Reply

