Sheared Bliss


The Virgin’s Demise*
July 9, 2009, 6:00 pm
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , ,

Apparently I don’t look like someone who buys brandy.

Purveyor of Adult Beverages: Can I help you?
Me: I need some brandy.
Him: Um, for cooking?
Me: Sort of . . . I’m making cherry bounce.
Him: Uh, ok, so you need a little bit?
Me: No, I need a fifth.
Him: A fifth.  A big bottle?
Me (very patiently): Yes, I need a fifth of brandy.
Him: Um . . . yeah, over here . . .

Maybe I was looking particularly librarian-ish or something today.

So as I told Liquor Store Dude, I’m making cherry bounce.  I’ve only recently become acquainted with this concept and decided I should make some, you know, for educational purposes – it’s historic!

Ingredients:
1 pound cherries
2 cups sugar
A fifth of brandy
A clean, lidded container large enough to hold all of the ingredients

Wash and stem the cherries (no need to pit them) and put them in the container.

I’m using two quart mason jars because I don’t have single container large enough.

Add the sugar and the brandy.

Seal the container, shake it up, and wait.

Don’t forget to shake it periodically while waiting.

How long do we wait?  That depends.  I’ve read recipes that say three weeks and recipes that say six months.  I guess we’ll wait and see what happens.

It’s supposed to make a great topping for cakes and ice cream.  You can sip it as a liqueur.  You can eat the cherries (mind the pits).  I think it will taste great mixed with some club soda.  Party at my place in six months!

 

*Supposedly historic slang for cherry bounce.  For added effect, drink while listening to “The Bad Girl’s Lament” by Traveler’s Dream.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so making that today, time permitting. But I was thinking of using vodka or maybe amaretto — something to compliment cherries. Also, I don’t know if I have big enough jars. Should be interesting. I’m also going to pit the cherries. I get enough chemical exposure at work without adding arsenic to the mix.

Comment by NurseK

I’m too lazy to pit the cherries and nothing I read said you should. I figured I’m being uber-safe by keeping them in the fridge. Most of the recipes said to leave them out, but it’s been so hot lately that I don’t want to tempt fate (or food poisoning). Check out the thread on the Sewing Academy – there was at least one person there who had used vodka and didn’t like the results (don’t remember why).

Comment by shearedbliss

Deja vu all over again. We obviously didn’t know what we were doing when we went to the liquor store looking for brandy for our peach jam last summer, either! As I recall, it took us quite a while to locate a small bottle.

Comment by MommaCodeMonkey




Leave a Reply

