Sheared Bliss


FO Friday
July 10, 2009, 5:00 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , , , , , ,

That’s “Finished Object” for you non-knitters.

The stripey enormousness is done and sent and received so I can finally post about it!  Yay!  It’s a baby blanket for my Cousin S’s first child, Peanut (not born yet and they don’t know the gender, so Peanut it is).  S is my baby cousin (ok, just a couple of years younger than me, but still) so it blows my mind that she’s already having babies of her own, but I’m very happy for her and her husband A.  The two of them actually got engaged the weekend of our wedding and A caught the garter at our reception so that’s pretty cool.  Anywho, on to the knitting!

Pattern: Lizard Ridge from Knitty – heavily modified

Yarn: Caron Country in Deep Purple, Spice House, and Peacock (or possibly Spruce – I can’t find the ball band and the colors are pretty close)

Modifications: Rather than knitting this in a self-striping yarn I knit it in stripes of three different colors (Noro’s beautiful, but this is for a baby so machine washable is a must).  I also didn’t knit it in blocks like the pattern called for – I just cast on a bazillion stitches, knit in the stitch pattern forever, cast off, and edged it with one row of single crochet and one row of scallops (big thanks to NurseK my crochet guru for helping with the border).

Thoughts: This is a well written pattern and I love the way it turned out.  However, I learned that my attention span and available knitting time are both too small for me to effectively knit something so large.  Doing the short row stitch pattern across the whole blanket rather than knitting it in blocks meant that each stripe took about an hour to knit.  I was so happy to be able to make this for S and A and little Peanut, but It’s going to be a looong time before I consider making another baby blanket.  As for the yarn – it’s my current favorite for baby items.  It’s soft, partially natural fibers, machine washable, affordable, widely available, and comes in great colors.  Speaking of colors, why purple, orange, and blue for a baby blanket?  The nursery is decorated around this painting of a guardian angel by our aunt. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

