Sheared Bliss


FO Friday
August 28, 2009, 6:00 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , ,

Time for another baby present!  This one’s for a coworker who’s due in a couple of months.

Details:

Yarn – Caron Country in Spruce (or possibly Peacock), Deep Purple (maybe Plum Pudding), and Loden Forest (could be Foliage).  Yeah, I dunno, the colors are awfully close on the website and I can’t find the ball bands.  Yes, again.  What?  This stuff is perfect for baby things and I have lots of odd bits floating around in my stash.

Needles – US size 5 (I think – I’m so good at documenting my work, aren’t I?) double points.

Hat Pattern – My own.  I just cast on as many stitches as I thought would go around a baby head (64ish, I think) and knit a stripey tube until it looked tall enough for a baby head.  I braided one strand of each color of yarn together and threaded that through the fabric to gather the top of the hat.

Sock Pattern – Loosely based on Pitter Patter Socks by Jacqueline Ziegler.  I knit the smallest size of her children’s sock pattern, added stripes, and deviated a bit on the heel and toe.  The pattern calls for a short row heel which I did, but I wasn’t paying much attention to the pattern at that point and mine looks different from hers so I may have done it differently.  The pattern also calls for doing decreases at the sides of the toe then finishing it with kitchener stitch.  I hate kitchener stitch so I decreased evenly around the toe until there were just a few stitches left, then finished it off by threading the yarn tail through the remaining stitches.

I love knitting baby clothes – they go so fast!  As an exercise in contrasts, the project I just started begins with the instruction “Cast on 242 stitches.”  Groooaaaan . . .

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

