Sheared Bliss


Surprise!
November 24, 2009, 9:19 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, Randomness | Tags: , , , ,

Over the past month I’ve been participating in a secret pal swap through Knitty and it’s been super fun.

Here’s the gist for those of you who’ve never heard of this: You’re paired with both an “upstream” and a “downstream” pal.  You send fun goodies to your downstream and your upstream does the same for you.  It’s awesome because you get the fun of cyber-stalking someone to figure out what sorts of things they would like and you can be as creative as you like in picking them out, packaging, and sending them.  Plus, you have someone doing the same for you so you get a box of awesomeness to open too.

Well, my box of awesomeness arrived yesterday and I’m thrilled.

  • Pretty Cheep Project Bag – super cute with a picture of a purple bird on it and useful because all of my other project bags are only half this size.
  • Amy’s Blend spiced rooibos tea from Caribou Coffee – very exciting as I’ve not tried rooibos yet.
  • Eucalan wool wash – I usually wash my woolly things in Dawn so I’m thrilled to have some fancy soap for my special things.
  • Lucy’s Chocolate Factory toffee crunch bar – Yum!
  • A skein of Wisdom Yarns’ Los Angeles sock yarn in brown, red, yellow, and blue – who doesn’t need more sock yarn, and such pretty colors!
  • Two skeins of Berroco Pure Merino in a beautiful dark teal – so soft!
  • One skein of a very bulky, natural colored wool yarn from Bartlett Yarns – this is the smooshiest yarn I’ve ever felt, it’s like hugging a sheep (without all of the wiggling and baa-ing and poop).

Thank you, thank you, thank you, oh secret pal of mine.  Now, my secret pal didn’t tell me her name, but I have a strong suspicion that it’s Christy.  Yoohoo, Christy!  Care to confirm or deny?

PS: If you’d like to see what I put together for my downstream, check out Lynn’s blog,  Froggy Knittery.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

so glad you liked everything! I am glad you like the sheepsdown. Apparently, naturally sheepy yarn is an acquired, um, taste…

Comment by Christy

LOL – I have two raw fleeces sitting in my garage currently. I think I’ve acquired the taste.

Comment by shearedbliss




Leave a Reply

