Sheared Bliss


The First Step
February 12, 2010, 10:06 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, Knitting | Tags: , , , , ,

They say that admitting that you have a problem is the first step. Well, I have a problem with mitts. Hello, my name is Angela and I am a mitt-knit-aholic. Yes, I am addicted to knitting mitts. Don’t laugh, we all have our demons.

Mitts, fingerless gloves, muffatees – call them what you will – I can’t stop knitting them. It started innocently enough with a couple of pairs of muffatees. Plain old boring ribbed muffatees to keep my hands (and those of a coworker) warm in a historically correct manner at my last job.

Then I thought a more contemporary pair would be nice, one little pair of Evangelines. A nice, serviceable pair in Patons Classic Merino – Peacock. They knit up quick while I was traveling two Christmases ago and now live at work where they keep my hands warm while I’m typing in the icebox that masquerades as my office.

Although I didn’t realize it at the time, this is where I started to stray down a dangerous path. I began to spiral downwards into a dark world of nothing but mitts. One of my coworkers admired my Evangelines and asked for a pair. Remember these?

Then I decided that a couple of pairs of mitts would be just the thing for my Grandma and my Busia for Christmas, pretty pink ones that would keep warm and help their arthritis.

My grandmas, the hand models. They're such hams.

That’s a pair of Fingerless Gloves from Luxury Yarn One Skien Wonders for Busia on the left and a pair of Mitt Envys for Grandma on the right, both in my own hand dyed sock yarn.

These were quickly followed by a pair of Thank You Mitts for myself. What? My hands get cold at home too, not just at work.

Then another coworker asked for a pair of mitts. I cast on a third pair of Evangeline – easy, right? Not so much. Yeah, I apparently have a gauge problem to go along with my mitt problem. My gauge was so off from one mitt to the other that there was a significant different in size. I ripped them out. I couldn’t bear to knit yet another pair of Evangelines so I ended up making CoworkerL a pair of Sweet Fern Mitts.

Then one of my volunteers saw L’s Sweet Ferns. Can you guess where this is going? Yeah, I just finished a pair of Sweet Ferns for VolunteerM.

For those of you who are playing along at home, that’s NINE pairs of mitts that I’ve knit. Wait, make that ten – I messed up on Grandma’s mitts a couple of times and ended up having to knit four individual mitts to end up with one functional pair. TEN pairs of Mitts! Crazy!

Enough, I say! Stop the madness! Tonight the Knitting Olympics begin (ok all of you non-knitters who are laughing at this, it is too a real thing) and the perfect opportunity for a fresh start. I am hereby renouncing the mitts, turning over a new leaf, and forging ahead with my Olympic project. Citius, Alitius, Fortius!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to watch the opening ceremony and cast on for something that is NOT MITTS. What is it? You’ll just have to wait and see . . .

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So maybe I need to wait awhile to have you teach me how to make mitts that go with my new headband and the scarf you made for me? I’d hate to interrupt your rehab. 🙂

Comment by MommaCodeMonkey

Hm, would teaching you to make mitts make me enabler? That can’t be good . . .

Comment by shearedbliss

Way to go Angelala! I will have to show Busia her picture on the internet !!!

Comment by Sandy N

Busia looks so good! The picture of both of them is hilarious. How is it that you have never knit a pair of fetching? I have 5 of those to my name!! Haha. Mitts are the perfect project for ADD knitters, like myself!

Comment by sarahstephens

I have no idea! I think I got ensnared by the pretty cables on Evangenline. Hm . . . maybe I should make some Fetchings . . . NO! Bad knitter! No more mitts! For now . . .

Comment by shearedbliss

angela, dear, you are agood photographer. This is great work that you did. Sandy and I enjoyed reading and watching all the way back to the beginning. The food all looked delicious and made us hungry. You are a great cook. Come and cook for us. You should live closer. You should open a restaurant nearby. We would like to be the tasters. I should have had a different color of blouse so that those beautiful mitts would have shown up much better. I love you. Your Busia, Genevieve

Comment by Busia




Leave a Reply

