Sheared Bliss


FO Friday
April 2, 2010, 11:06 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , , , ,

This may just be the quickest sweater to knit ever.  I finished it in just a few days.  It’s taken me longer to get around to blogging about it than it did to make it.

Pattern: Anthropologie-Inspired Capelet by Julia Allen on Peony Knits

Yarn: SunKissed Hand-Dyed Yarn from One Sheep Hill

Modifications: The ribbing on the bottom ended up being a little shorter than the pattern calls for because I ran out of yarn.

I really enjoyed this project.  The pattern is well written and simple without being boring.  It was the perfect use for this single skein of hand dyed, organic cotton that has been sitting in my stash for about two years waiting for me to figure out what to do with it.  The finished product is cute and fits well.  I foresee wearing it a lot to make tank-tops more work-appropriate or when I go dancing to keep the chill off before I’ve warmed up.

My only issue with this sweater is the name and that’s really Anthropologie’s fault.  They apparently have an incomplete grasp of the English language and insist on calling things with sleeves “capelets.”

Capelet
Pronunciation: \ˈkāp-lət\
Function: noun
Date: 1912
a small cape usually covering the shoulders.

***

Cape
Function: noun
Etymology: probably from Spanish capa cloak, from Late Latin cappa head covering, cloak
Date: 1758
a sleeveless outer garment or part of a garment that fits closely at the neck and hangs loosely over the shoulders.

Ahem.  Sleeveless.  Therefore, this garment will henceforth be referred to as a shrug.

Shrug
Function: noun
Date: 1594
a woman’s small waist-length or shorter jacket.

Yes, that seems more likely.

Anywho, one of my favorite things about this shrug is the closure.  I couldn’t find a button I liked for it so I started looking at vintage brooches on Etsy.  I found just the right one, don’t you think?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

1. You are adorable.
2. That shrug is adorable.
3. Love, love, love the broach.
4. I can’t help but think I am a little bit of the inspiration for making totally not work appropriate clothing, work appropriate!

Comment by sarahstephens

1. Thanks!
2. Thanks!
3. Me too! Shopping for vintage stuff on Etsy is a slippery slope.
4. You so are!

Comment by shearedbliss

Hi cutie, yes perfect brooch !

Comment by Sandy N




Leave a Reply

