Sheared Bliss


FO Friday

Hey, remember the stripey, amorphous blob I was knitting a while ago?  It’s done!

What?  It still doesn’t look like anything?  Oh yeah, let me fix that.

Ta-da!  It’s a baby sweater!

Pattern: Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Baby Surprise Jacket

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash in 880 and 905

I used up the entire skein of the purple with just enough left over for seaming.  There’s just about enough of the green left over for a baby hat.

Needles: US 8 circular

Modifications: Not too much really.  I did the stripes by changing colors every other row.  I did a wider stripe of the purple at both the cast on edge (6 rows, I think) and the cast off edge (8, maybe).  After it was finished, I picked up stitches along each cuff and knit some additional length (16-ish rows) on each sleeve because I’ve heard that the sleeves can get a little short before the rest of the sweater is outgrown.  I also did a little single crochet edging in purple around the neck so that it would match the rest of the edges.

This was an entertaining knit.  The totally bizarre construction added interest while the fact that it’s done in garter stitch made it easy enough to be fairly portable.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love it!

Comment by Amy from work

Nice job! And you made the right decision to add the length to the sleeve. Lucky baby! FYI: I can see your posts now on Rav friends!

Comment by Liz




Leave a Reply

