Sheared Bliss


Hole in my head
August 25, 2010, 11:06 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, Knitting, Weaving, WiP Wednesday | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I need a new hobby like I need a hole in my head.  Good thing this isn’t a new hobby then – just an extension of my existing ones.  I got a loom!

Isn’t it pretty?  I wasn’t exactly looking for a loom, but someone made me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  I only know the basics so far, but I’ve already managed to get it warped and produce some fairly respectable fabric.  Here’s my current weaving WiP with my current knitting WiP.

Um, yeah.  “Hello, my name is ShearedBliss and I have a problem with red twill . . .”  Totally unintentional, but kind of funny when I realized I was making almost exactly the same fabric in two different ways.  The weaving is hemp and the knitting is wool.  The knitting stretches, of course, while the weaving doesn’t, and it takes about half an hour to complete one pattern repeat on the knitting while I can do a pattern repeat on the weaving in about five minutes.  It’s an interesting exercise in compare and contrast.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! You know, Momma always told me- she who dies with the most fabric wins…I wonder if it applies to hobbies? Or at least projects?

Comment by FrontierC

Nope, I’m never gonna die, I have too many unfinished projects 😉

Comment by ShearedBliss

Hi Angela,
It sounds like you ar having way too much fun! I love your fashions from your fashion show. Remind me where you are working these days…library or museum? I loooove your loom! Getting ready for the Wool Gathering…wish you were here.
Nancy

Comment by Nancy

Hi Nancy! I wish I could go to the Wool Gathering with you too. We have the Estes Park Sheep and Wool Market here, but it’s not the same as Wool Gathering.

Comment by ShearedBliss

[…] This was a commissioned piece for CoworkerK.  I’ve been working on it since at least last August.  The knitting wasn’t particularly challenging apart from a couple of fiddly places where I […]

Pingback by FO Friday « Sheared Bliss




Leave a Reply

