Sheared Bliss


Holy Grail of Kale
November 22, 2010, 12:07 am
Filed under: Food | Tags: , , , , , ,

We’ve been getting a lot of kale from the CSA lately.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like kale.  It’s delicious and nutritious, but . . . well, it’s kale and there’s only so much of it that I can eat sauteed over brown rice.  It’s good with Thai peanut sauce, but the coconut milk and peanut butter might just negate the nutritional benefits of the kale.  Luckily, I’ve discovered my new favorite way to eat kale which is maybe a smidgen healthier.

Ingredients:

  • A bunch of kale – green, purple, whatever you’ve got
  • Some diced onion, shallot, garlic, whatever you’ve got
  • Oven roasted beets – peel, dice, toss with olive oil and salt and bake at 450º until tender.
  • A couple of handfuls of toasted pecans
  • Chèvre, feta, or other soft, strong cheese
  • Olive oil

Sauté the onion, shallot, garlic, whatever in the olive oil until they soften and start to turn golden.  Add the kale and sauté until it starts to wilt.  Add the beets and pecans and stir until everything is combined and warmed through.  At the very end, add the cheese and stir until it just starts to melt.  Serve as a side or over rice as a main course.

It’s not a very photogenic dish, but it’s soooo yummy.  Trust me, this is what kale wants to be when it grows up.

I’m eating mine with spaghetti squash made from this recipe which, for the record, is what spaghetti squash wants to be when it grows up.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I steamed my kale with brown rice this week and it made the rice a lovely lavender color, with the kale only slightly green. I use low sodium peanut sauce on it and I love it.

Comment by NurseK




Leave a Reply

