Sheared Bliss


FO Friday
February 26, 2011, 12:07 am
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting, Sewing | Tags: , , , , , ,

Pattern: Junior Doctor’s Bag from Slip Slip Knit – a scaled down version of the Doctor’s Bag from Knit 2 Together

Yarn: Jo-Ann Sensations Kashmira in red

Notes: This was a commissioned piece for CoworkerK.  I’ve been working on it since at least last August.  The knitting wasn’t particularly challenging apart from a couple of fiddly places where I had to decrease while maintaining the stitch pattern  (I may have yelled “Stop talking, I’m counting!” at the lovely ladies in my fiber arts group at one point).  The slip stitch pattern used to create the twill effect was really quite clever once I got past the needlessly obscure way the stitch pattern was written and rewrote it myself.  No, the knitting wasn’t the problem, the fact that I was going to have to draft my own pattern for the sewn fabric lining was.  So I knit the pieces, blocked them, and let them sit for an embarrassingly long time.  Finally, I bit the bullet, rounded up my scissors, iron, ruler, sharpie, pins, needle, thread, fabric, plastic canvas, and a paper grocery bag, and faked my way through lining the sucker.  Turned out pretty well, if I do say so myself.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh, how cute. love the striped interior and leather handles. What size is this?

Sandy N

Comment by Sandy N

Oh it’s probably about 20″ long x 6″ high x 6″ wide. It’s a good sized purse. And this is the scaled down version. The original really is a piece of luggage.

Comment by ShearedBliss




Leave a Reply

