Sheared Bliss


It’s alive!!!!
March 3, 2011, 9:47 pm
Filed under: Fiber Arts, Randomness | Tags: , ,

Ok, not really, but I do feel a bit like a mad scientist.  I call it . . . Frankenwinder!

A couple of years ago, MommaCodeMonkey and I made an upright skein winder out of PVC pipe.  It was beautiful, with a crank handle for turning it and everything.  The only problem was that it really wasn’t sturdy enough to wind skeins well.  It kept imploding in a tangle of yarn and profanity.

Earlier this week, as I was winding a three pound cone of sock yarn by hand, I decided it might be time to revisit the PVC winder.  After a little bit of tinkering, I now have a tabletop winder made from 17 pieces of PVC pipe, a carriage bolt, three nuts, four washers, a nylon spacer, a board, and a cardboard box.  It works pretty well except for the fact that the top nut keeps tightening.  I think I’ll replace it with another spacer or some washers or something.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yea! I’m so glad it’s usable. We worked hard to make it. Hooray!

Comment by MommaCodeMonkey

Whoohoo! I love improvements!

Comment by MonteCelery




Leave a Reply

