Sheared Bliss


Pink Grapefruit
January 28, 2012, 12:10 am
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , , , , ,

Pattern: Citron

Yarn: Rowan Kidsilk Haze in 630 Fondant (this color appears to have been discontinued)

Notes: I cast this on months ago, before Wiggles was born, with the vague thought that it might be nice to have some small shawls to use as nursing covers.  The pattern makes a light, lacy, delicate, feminine shawl without any actual lace knitting.  It was a straightforward knit and went relatively quickly until the last few sections.  It sat for quite a while with just the final ruffle left to go because by that point the rows were looking like this: K3, [kfb] in each st to next marker, k3. 540 sts.  I finally finished it up this past week.  I didn’t make any major modifications, but I don’t think I knit the full 11 rows that the pattern calls for in the final ruffle because I was running out of yarn.  I also had to do a weird, improvised, backwards sort of bind off.  I miscalculated and knit one more row than I should have on the ruffle and, at that point, it was easier to invent a new bind off than to rip back a row because the mohair halo makes this yarn a nightmare to frog.  We haven’t tried it out as a nursing cover yet, but I’m hoping it works and the mohair isn’t too tickley for Wiggles because it would certainly be more stylish than using a receiving blanket.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice shawl, I love the texture

Comment by Ella V

Thanks!

Comment by ShearedBliss

Really pretty! 🙂

Comment by irishhistoricaltextiles




Leave a Reply

