Sheared Bliss


FO Friday
January 4, 2013, 8:00 am
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , , ,

Pattern: First Frost

Yarn: Rowan Creative Focus Worsted in colorway 00402 Charcoal Heather

Knit for: MommaBliss

Size: I used the “in between” sizing instructions to knit a M/L with a 40″ bust and made further small tweaks to custom fit it to MommaBliss’ measurements.

Notes: I actually started knitting this about a year ago when MommaBliss realized that the shawl I’m working on* for her is not imminently forthcoming and suggested that I could perhaps make her a vest in the meantime.  We perused patterns and finally settled on one that she would wear and that looked like a pleasant knit that I might actually finish in the foreseeable future.  Then came the trip to the yarn store wherein I described all of the black and gray worsted weight yarns to MommaBliss over the phone and gave lists of pros and cons of each so that she could pick one.  Then I started knitting it, but stalled out sometime in the spring because I got to a hard part like picking up stitches or doing math or something.  I picked it back up again on our trip to Cortez in August and finished it except for blocking, sewing two tiny seams, and knitting the arm holes and button band.  I finally finished it up while visiting MommaBliss in September so I was able to deliver it in person and then managed to procrastinate on blogging about it for four months.

*And by “working on” I mean “totally ignoring the fact that it’s sitting in my WiP basket mocking me with its trinity stitch and insanely long rows.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

