Sheared Bliss


FO Friday
April 26, 2013, 8:00 am
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , , ,

Pattern: Montague Bulky Lace Vest

Yarn: 1 skein Cascade Ecological Wool in 8063 (Latte)

Size: 38

Notes: The pattern calls for knitting the vest in three parts (two fronts and a back), seaming them all together, picking up stitches around the bottom to knit a garter stitch edging, and finally picking up stitches around the fronts to knit the ribbed shawl collar.  I do not enjoy seaming that much so I knit the body of the vest in one piece starting with the garter stitch bottom edge.  I made the body slightly longer than the pattern calls for before splitting for the armholes in the interest of getting to the end of a pattern repeat in the lace.  Once the armholes were knit and the shoulders were seamed I picked up stitches around the front edges for the ribbing.  I picked up more stitches than the pattern calls for to account for the extra length in the body.  I also knit the first three stitches on each end in garter stitch to keep them from curling.  If I knit this again I would leave the garter stitch edging on the bottom until last then pick up and knit it around the bottom of the whole vest including the shawl collar.  Finally, I crocheted one round of crab stitch around the armholes to help stabilize them.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s what I’d have done, too. I’ll go to any lenghts to avoid seaming as much as possible…
It’s a really nice pattern and it really suits you!

Comment by reWOLLuzza

Thanks! I love the vest and it really was an enjoyable knit once I tweaked the construction to my liking. I guess the pattern author really likes seaming or something.

Comment by ShearedBliss

Looks good.

Comment by azterya

I really like this! I love vests. Great job. 🙂

Comment by Geraldine

Thanks!

Comment by ShearedBliss




Leave a Reply

