Sheared Bliss


FO Friday: Ragg* and Bone**
February 28, 2014, 8:00 am
Filed under: Fiber Arts, FO Friday, Knitting | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Rag and bone man, picking up the tin can,
Throwin’ it all in his donkey wagon.
Rag and bone man, coming down the street,
Come around here ‘bout every other week.

~ “Rag and Bone,” Gaelic Storm

Pattern: Iced

Yarn: Pure Luxury Organic Peruvian Alpaca by Cottage Industry (discontinued) in color 1 (cream) and 5 (gray).  I bought this yarn years ago.  I was a newish knitter and a friend from my knitting group had stumbled across a yarn store that was going out of business and selling off their inventory (on Ebay, maybe?).  New knitter me though “Ooh, alpaca, fancy!” and bought two bags of each of the three colors on offer (cream, gray, and brown) and then proceeded to do not much with it.  I made an Aleita Shell with the cream, which I loved and was very proud of.  Sadly, I finally had to admit that I never wore it because it was too short waisted and made me do the Picard maneuver so I passed it on to a friend who could wear it.  And so, I still had a large amount of brown and gray and a slightly less large amount of cream kicking around the stash.  When I decided to do Iced I did some swatching and some math (crazy, right?) and figured out that I got gauge if I held three strands together and I would have enough yardage if I used one strand of cream and two strands of gray.  *Ragg is a yarn formed of two strands of dyed wool and one strand of undyed wool.

Notes: I started this several years ago (ah, yes, here we go, it was definitely in the WIP pile over three years ago), finished everything except one and a half sleeves, stalled out, had a baby, blah blah blah.  I finally picked it up and finished it this winter and I’m so glad I did.  It’s super warm and comfy and I’ve been wearing it a lot.  Unfortunately, given the lag time between starting and finishing, I don’t remember a whole lot of details.  I seem to have used the US size 11 needles the pattern calls for and knit the large size.  I worked the bottom edge of the sweater and the cuffs in garter stitch to match the shawl collar because I didn’t like the unfinished look of curled edges that the pattern calls for.  I think those are the only real changes I made.  **I finished it off with hand carved bone buttons from here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

